NEW King bed made up as 'Austrian twins' Cosy downy duvets, pure cotton bedding. - Dublinletfor2 Your home in the City - Dublin
Dublinletfor2 Your home in the City - Dublin
Monsoon and spray shower heads over bath. Grab bars. - Dublinletfor2 Your home in the City - Dublin
L-shaped shower bath. Full size deep bath. Big bath towels! - Dublinletfor2 Your home in the City - Dublin
Rooftops and trees of Ballsbridge from the sittingroom. Hard to believe you are 10 minutes from central Dublin! - Dublinletfor2 Your home in the City - Dublin
Seating for up to 6 - Dublinletfor2 Your home in the City - Dublin
32" Cable TV with Chromecast. DVD player. WIFI - Dublinletfor2 Your home in the City - Dublin
Dining table by the window. Door to the balcony - Dublinletfor2 Your home in the City - Dublin
Early Spring. View from the window - Dublinletfor2 Your home in the City - Dublin
Shared garden - Dublinletfor2 Your home in the City - Dublin
Cloakroom off the hall - Dublinletfor2 Your home in the City - Dublin
Dublinletfor2 Your home in the City - Dublin
Very well equipped kitchen - Dublinletfor2 Your home in the City - Dublin
Small table for taking coffee by the window - Dublinletfor2 Your home in the City - Dublin
Nearby Herbert Park - Dublinletfor2 Your home in the City - Dublin
Bullock Harbour Dalkey - a trip on the Dart Railway - Dublinletfor2 Your home in the City - Dublin
The round tower at Glendalough. Pick up St Kevin's Bus in Donnybrook to take a day trip out to Wicklow. - Dublinletfor2 Your home in the City - Dublin
Spacious & light, homely, sleeps 2 apartment. Comfortable base 10 minutes bus ride from the centre.
Hosted by Felicity
Identity verified
This host verified their email and phone number on Houfy.
Accepts payments on Houfy
This host allows you to book through Houfy.


Note, I have left this listing here for information for friends as I am now only allowed to have friends to stay, from a ruling by my apartment block. But my friends, from far and wide, some of whom I only know from online groups, can still come and stay so if you know me, just ask!

Apartment highlights:

• City apartment for 2 with the quietness of the suburbs
• Furnished and equipped as a home rather than as a holiday let
• Just yards away from the airport coach stop and buses to the centre (a
10 minute ride) Just over I mile from the beach at Sandymount (a nice walk!)
• Shops and restaurants within 5 minutes walk
• Close to UCD, RDS, Telefís Éireann, Vincent's Hospital

Situated in the Ballsbridge/Donnybrook area of Dublin on leafy Ailesbury Road, 10 minutes bus ride from Stephen's Green, this is our own home away from home so it is equipped as such. It is set in its own large mature gardens and is a (relatively!) quiet haven in a busy city.

The apartment is at the top end of Ailesbury Road where it meets Anglesea Road.

The main road that runs through the village of Donnybrook (where the shops and restaurants are) is the N11 (south to Wexford) and the coast road runs from the other end of Ailesbury Road, so this is very well positioned for those with a car who want to explore the Dublin mountains or coast, or the many lovely places in County Wicklow on easy day trips. We are half way between the ports at Dun Laoghaire and Dublin ferry port, both being less than 5 miles drive away. The Dart Railway runs from Sydney Parade which is a little bit beyond the bottom of Ailesbury Road (a one mile walk). On this rapid transit system you can visit the many attractive seaside villages along the coast, both north and south.

The apartment, on the third floor (American 4th) has very large light and airy rooms which is quite unusual in a modern block in Dublin (built in the 60's). There are great views, through the large picture windows, over a very verdant part of Dublin and the ever changing cloud formations.

Details of accommodation

• An entrance hall which leads to a large bright sitting room with fast wifi broadband access (no extra charge). I have a TV there but I have discontinued cable subscriptions so it only picks up from your own device through wifi so if you want to watch Netflix etc. you can do so through your own subscription. I still have a TV licence so you can download RTE station apps on your device and watch through the TV.

There is plenty of comfortable seating and a dining table (seats 6) from where you can look out over Dublin towards the sea (hidden by trees, see photographs) which Is only about a mile away. A door from here leads to the balcony. Recently re-carpeted.

• A cloakroom which houses the washing machine, basin and loo.

• The kitchen is fully equipped with microwave and dishwasher, fridge freezer, electric hob and oven, espresso machine, drip filter machine and French press etc. In addition the cupboard is stocked with non-perishables which you are welcome to use (replacing as necessary).

• There is small ensuite bathroom recently renovated. The shower is still over the bath but the pressure is great! Almost impossible to photograph but it is nice!

• The bedroom is large and the mattresses are deemed very comfortable. The bed is made up as 'Austrian Twins' (see below). All linen is provided but if you are staying longer than a week you are asked to take care of your own linen and towel changeovers as this is not a serviced apartment.

The balcony gives you some outdoor space and is a welcome treat on hot summer days (all too rare!) but it faces East so only gets the early morning sun and is therefore no good for sun bathing. The communal garden has large lawned areas in which you are welcome to go and sit.

There is a caretaker on site on weekdays, secure parking (free to visitors) and entrance video phone.

As this is a very quiet block in which a lot of retired people live my apartment is only lent to my mature quiet friends! No smokers at all - sorry!

This is for a MAXIMUM of 2 people for a MINIMUM of 7 nights. The bed could be used by a couple or two close friends as the mattresses and bedding are separate but on the same base.

I keep a calendar of availability of which shows when my friends and family are staying and as it is not occupied much at all, I can usually be very flexible on arrival and leaving times.

Friends: I am happy to answer any questions you might have about the apartment, the area or holidaying in Ireland in general so please feel free to email me and maybe I can help you plan your holiday and if you fancy staying in a cosy country cottage in the Heart of England in the North Cotswolds, close to Chipping Campden and Stratford upon Avon (no restrictions on renting!) please take a look at my other listing on this site (Sansome House Cottage ) or click through to my website.

Sleeping Configuration

Bedroom 1 (the one and only!)
1 king bed
This bed is made up as Austrian Twins - two single mattresses on the same frame with two duvets. Excellent if your sleeping partner is prone to moving a lot or stealing duvets!


Washing Machine
Iron & Board
Hair Dryer
Linens Provided
Full Kitchen
High Speed Internet
Laptop friendly workspace
Smart TV
Smoke Detector

Reviews (30)
Excellent based on 30 Reviews

Nearby activities

Pier fishing
Fly fishing


No events allowed
No smoking allowed
Parking Included
Parking by arrangement and is free of charge. A parking disc, supplied by me, must be displayed in the visitor's car park.

Getting around

Just yards from the door is the Aircoach stop which brings you to and from the Airport and also buses into the centre of Dublin, St Stephen's Green being just a 10 minute journey or you can walk in 25/30 minutes. O'Connell Street is 15 minutes on the bus. The Dart Railway is one mile distant and the two ports of Dublin both 5 miles away. There is free parking within the complex if you want to rent a car. Ailesbury Road leads straight down to the sea at Sandymount - a very pleasant leafy walk of just over a mile.
Read more


These directions are for planning purposes only. You may find that construction projects, traffic, weather, or other events may cause conditions to differ from the map results, and you should plan your route accordingly. You must obey all signs or notices regarding your route.
1 guest
Enter dates and number of guests to view the total trip price, including additional fees and any taxes.
Report this listing


My husband and I live in England at Sansome House in the North Cotswolds. In the grounds of our house is our rental cottage, Sansome House Cottage. I am Irish and my husband is English. My Dublin apartment used to be my mother's and in order to keep it in the family I used to rent it for part of the year to holidaymakers. Now I am not allowed to do commercial lets, I just lend it to friends. It is very well equipped as we use it as our own holiday home but all personal clutter is tucked away in a cupboard.
Read more
Member since: May 2017
Speaks: English

Policies and Rules

Check In: Flexible
If I am not in Dublin myself, I will arrange to leave a key for you. All details will be sent to you well in advance. I can usually arrange your stay if you let me know at least a month in advance.
Check Out: Flexible
No pets
Minimum age limit for renters: 25
Most of my friends are of mature years and I can only have quiet people staying, this being a very quiet building, mostly occupied by very peace-loving retired people.
House Rules
No parties and no undue noise must be heard outside the apartment door. The piano may be played during daylight hours.
Payment Policy
This is now only lent to friends so there is no 'payment policy'
Refundable Damage Deposit
Friends - I trust you to please report accidents anything lost, broken or damaged and make reparation.
Cancellation Policy
by arrangement as this is now not let commercially but I do plan my visits so I meet you on arrival or we fix something else
No smokers please and no pets. There must be a maximum of two people staying at any time. Any child must be over 12 years old (and they count as one of the two people!). Daytime visitors must be limited to a maximum of 4.

Dublinletfor2 Your home in the City - Dublin is a Apartment located in Dublin, Ireland. This Apartment is available for short term lodging and accommodates 2 guests
Dublinletfor2 Your home in the City - Dublin has 1 bedroom, 1.5 bathrooms and was listed on Houfy on May 2017

Listing # 1034 - 157 Views